3

PROVINCIAL ASSEMBLY OF NWFP

Summary of proceedings of the meeting of the Assembly held on 29 March 2008

The Presiding Officer, Arbab Muhammad Ayub Jan occupied the Chair at 10:56 a.m. The meeting commenced with the recitation from the Holy Quran. The Presiding Officer announced that the Secretary Assembly has received nomination papers about Mr.Kirmatullah Khan for the office of Speaker. He has been nominated by Mr.Bashir Ahmad Bilour MPA, Mr.Rahim Dad Khan, MPA, Malik Tahmash Khan MPA. Mr.Kirmatullah Khan MPA, was the only contesting candidate for the office of Mr.Speaker, therefore, the Presiding Officer declared him unopposed Speaker and administered oath to him. After administering oath to the Mr.Kirmatullah Khan as Speaker, the Presiding officer vacated the Chair.

The newly elected Speaker occupied the Chair. He was gratitude by Members. The Speaker thereafter conducted proceeding of election of Deputy Speaker. Mr. Speaker announced that Mr.Khushdil Khan Advocate is the only nominated candidate for the office of Deputy Speaker, who have been nominated by Mr.Saqibullah Khan Chamkani, MPA, Mian Iftikhar Hussain, MPA, and Mahmood Zeb MPA, therefore, he is declared elected as unopposed Deputy Speaker and administered oath to him. The Deputy Speaker was also gratitude by the Members. Mr. Speaker and Deputy Speaker both spoke to express exp;ress their gratitude to the members who had reposed confidence in him. After the completion of the election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker, the first session of the Assembly summoned by the Governor for this purpose stood prorogued.