PROVINCIAL ASSEMBLY OF NWFP

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE FIFTH SESSION

OF NWFP ASSEMBLY MONDAY 18TH AUGUST 2008 (REQUISITION SESSION).

Mr. Kiramatullah Khan, Speaker assumed the chair at 11:15 A.M. and proceedings commenced with recitation from the Holy Qur'an.

2. Leave applications of the following members were accepted by the House:-

- 1. Khalifa Abdul Qayyum, MPA from 18/08/2008 till the end of session.
 - 2. Mr. Hidayatullah Khan, Minister for Livestock for 18/08/2008.
 - 3. Mr. Muhammad Humayun Khan, Minister for Finance for 18/08/2008.
 - 4. Mr. Mehmood Alam, MPA from 18/08/2008 to 20/08/2008.
 - 5. Dr. Faiza Bibi Rasheed, MPA for 18/08/2008.
 - 6. Syed Ahmad Hussain Shah, Minister for Industries for 18/08/2008.

QUESTION HOUR

3. The following questions relating to Higher Education and Elementary and Secondary Education Departments were disposed off:

- 1. Q. No. 5 by Dr. Zakirullah Khan, MPA was moved and replied. (Referred to Standing Committee on Higher Education).
- 2. Q. No. 7 by Mr. Abdul Sattar Khan, MPA was moved and replied.
- 3. Q. No. 9 by Dr. Zakirullah Khan, MPA was moved and replied. (Referred to Standing Committee on Higher Education).
- 4. Q. No. 13 by Mr. Abdul Sattar Khan, MPA was moved and replied.
- 5 Q. No. 2 by Mst: Sanjeeda Yousaf, MPA was moved and replied.(notice under rule 48 by Mr. Abdul Akbar Khan, MPA).
- 6. Q. No. 6 by Mr. Abdul Sattar Khan, MPA was moved and replied.
- 7.Q. No. 8 by Mr. Abdul Sattar Khan, MPA was moved and replied.
- 8. Q. No. 10 by Mr. Abdul Sattar Khan, MPA was moved and replied.
- 9.Q. No. 31 by Mr. Israrullah Khan Gandapur, MPA was kept pending till the copies of the complete reply are received to this Secretariat for distribution amongst the Members.

10.Q. No. 37 by Mr. Pervaiz Ahmad Khan, MPA was moved and replied.

4. After tea break Mr. Israrullah Khan Gandapur, MPA raised a point of order that the copies of the Constitution provided by the Assembly Secretariat were the amended copies of the Constitution wherein proclamation order was incorporated which does not make part of the Constitution. He sought clarification from the Chair as to whether they were given oath under the controversial Constitution as he was of the view that the Members had taken oath under the 1973 Constitution. Mr. Abdul Akbar Khan, MPA seconded him. Mr. Speaker told the House that the copies of the Constitution were published/provided by the Law and Justice Division, Islamabad. However Mr. Speaker reserved his ruling on the point of order.

RESOLUTIONS

- 5.
- The following resolutions were disposed off:-
- 1. Resolution No.3 moved by Mr. Abdul Sattar Khan, MPA passed per majority.
- 2. Resolution No. 5 moved by Dr. Zakirullah Khan, MPA passed unanimously.
- 3. Resolution No. 6 pended till the presence of Minister for Finance and Chief Minister.
- 4. Resolution No. 8 moved by Mr. Shah Hussain, MPA passed unanimously.
- 5. Resolution No. 18 moved by Syed Qalb-e-Hassan, MPA was defeated.
- 6. Resolution No. 19 moved by Mst: Noor Sahar, MPA passed unanimously.
- 7. Resolution No. 20 moved by Mr. Israrullah Khan Gandapur, MPA passed per majority.
- 8. Resolution No. 22 moved by Mr. Muhammad Zahir Shah Khan, MPA passed unanimously.
- 9. Resolution No. 23 moved by Dr. Iqbal Din, MPA passed unanimously with amendments.

6. The following members expressed their views on the resignation by the President General ® Pervaiz Mushrraf:-

- 1. Mr. Muhammad Javid Abbasi, MPA
- 2. Mr. Alamzeb, MPA
- 3. Mr. Rahim Dad Khan, Sr. Minister/Minister for P&D
- 4. Mr. Sardar Hussain Babak, Minister for Elementary & Secondary Education.
- 5. Mian Iftikhar Hussain, Minister for Information
- 6. Sardar Aurangzeb Naloth, MPA
- 7. Mr. Abdul Akbar Khan, MPA
- 8. Mr. Liaqat Ali Shabab, Minister for Excise & Taxation
- 9. Mufti Syed Janan, MPA
- 10. Mr. Zahir Shah Khan, MPA
- 11. Mst: Shazia Aurangzeb, MPA
- 12. Syed Zahir Ali Shah, Minister for Health
- 13. Maulvi Obaidullah, MPA
- 14. Mr. Sher Azam Khan, Minister for Labour
- 15. Mr. Wajid Ali Khan, Minister for Environment
 - The sitting was adjourned till 19^{th} August, 2008 at 9:30 A.M.

7.